Foundation Board of Directors

The Piedmont Virginia Community College Educational Foundation was established in 1982 to cultivate and provide financial and in-kind support for Piedmont Virginia Community College. The Educational Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of representatives from the business, financial and professional areas in the communities served by the college and of administrative and faculty personnel from the college.

Board Members 2017

Philip Sparks 

Jay Ferguson
Vice President


Jackie Bradley

Bobbie Bruner

Patricia L. Fleshman Burnette

Alan Culbertson

Shelia Davis

Stephen Davis, College Board Liaison

Robert "Bob" Gest III

Marcus Hill

Richard Howard-Smith

Bob Kahn

Ken Lawson

Krissy Lester

Phillip W. Shiflett, CPA

Cynthia Bolick Stultz

David Turner

Camilla Washington

Billy Wayson

David Whitcomb

John J. Young


Ex Officio

Frank Friedman 
PVCC President 

Kim McManus 
PVCC Vice President for Finance
and Administrative Services

John R. Donnelly 
PVCC Vice President for Instruction
and Student Services

Executive Director
Harry Stillerman

PVCC Vice President for Institutional
Advancement and Development

Faculty Advisors

Barbara Heyl, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry

Connie Jorgensen 
Assistant Professor of Political Science

Staff Support

Simone Alley
Director of Major Gifts and Planned Giving

Silvia Dowell
Scholarship and Alumni Association Coordinator

Tammy McCormick
Administrative Assistant