Office of Student Engagement & Student Life

About Office of Student Engagement & Student Life 

This office is responsible for coordinating and implementing the policies and procedures pertaining to the operation of campus organizations and activities. If you don't find what you need on this Web site, contact this office to find out what types of student programs have been established at PVCC. If you feel that a need is not being met, tell someone about it or better yet, do something about it! Suggestions and requests for social, cultural, recreational and co-curricular activities are most welcome.

Virtual Activities and Socially-Distanced Programming 

Although social distancing may be new to many of us, the Office of Student Engagement & Student Life is committed to providing our students with new and exciting activities that can done virtually anywhere. Below is the working list of activities and events planned for the fall semester. More details will be available soon.

Want to learn about Student Government Association? Email Shawn Anderson @sanderson@pvcc.edu

 

International Club

Irina Timchenko

Itimchenko@pvcc.edu

Horticulture & Environmental Club

David Lerman

dlerman@pvcc.edu

German Club

Patricia Jassmann

pjassmann@pvcc.edu

Adult Student Life Club

Denise McClanahan

dmcclanahan@pvcc.edu

Radiography Club

Stephanie Gentry-Reynolds

Sgentry-reynolds@pvcc.edu

Student Veterans of VA Club

Jackie Fisher

jfisher@pvcc.edu

HOPE Club

Jackie Fisher

jfisher@pvcc.edu

Engineering Club

Erica Fultz

efultz@pvcc.edu

Board Game Club

Bruce Glassco

bglassco@pvcc.edu

Cybersecurity Club

OR

Turning Point, USA

Richard Seweryniak

rseweryniak@pvcc.edu

People Empowering People (PEP)

Susan Hannifan

shannifan@pvcc.edu

Spanish Club

Kit Decker

kdecker@pvcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)

Kit Decker

kdecker@pvcc.edu

CRU Club

Andre Luck

aluck@pvcc.edu

The Forum Student Newspaper

Tamara Whyte

twhyte@pvcc.edu

Creative Writing Club

Jennifer Koster

jkoster@pvcc.edu

Volunteer Club

Todd Platts

tplatts@pvcc.edu

LGBTQ Club

Jessica Kingsley

jkingsley@pvcc.edu

Black Student Alliance

Amanda Key

akey@pvcc.edu

Drama Club

Brad Stoller

bstoller@pvcc.edu

Student Launch Team

Sue Haas

vhaas@pvcc.edu

September:

  • 9/17  Fitness trails reopening
  • 9/30  Faculty/Staff vs. Student Tennis Competition 

October:

  • 10/1  Run with Dean Renshaw begins (weekly, Thursdays 4-5pm)
  • 10/7  Virtual Club Day 
  • 10/8  Virtual Club Day 
  • 10/9  Drive-In Movie 
  • 10/28  PVCC Disc Golf Course opens
  • 10/30  Fantasy Football League Competition begins

November:

  • 11/1-11/25  25 Days of Giving w/SGA
  • 11/11  SGA Veteran’s Club sponsored event for Veteran’s Day
  • 11/18  SGA sponsored event (STEM Month)
  • 11/20  Drive-In Movie 

December:

  • 12/1  Toy Lift collection

Student activity hour on campus is held every Monday and Wednesday 11:50 a.m.-12:50 p.m. in the fall and spring semesters. A variety of concerts, motivational speakers, socials and other free activities that are planned by the Office of Student Activities are held during this time and sometimes student clubs and organizations also meet.

Virtual Tours

The British Museum 

Historical Homes
Museums to Visit in Dubai
 

Vouchers - Free Admission to Featured Events in the V. Earl Dickinson Building

Payment of the student activity fee when you register for classes entitles you to vouchers that offer free admission to selected events in PVCC's regular season of fine arts and performances in the V. Earl Dickinson Building. Pick up the vouchers at the Receptionist Desk at the South entrance to the Main Building. Redeem the vouchers for free tickets at the PVCC Box Office in the V. Earl Dickinson Building. The Box Office is open two hours before the start of each show.

To find out when student activities and events are scheduled...

  • Check the online PVCC Events Calendar. It's updated weekly.
  • Visit PVCC Fine Arts and Performances or pick up the season brochure, available in the Admissions & Advising Center and other places around campus.
  • Watch the announcements on the closed-circuit flat-screen TV monitors. In the Main Building, these are located at the South entrance and in the Bolick Student Center. In the V. Earl Dickinson Building, the monitor is in the commons area.
  • Check the bulletin boards in the Bolick Student Center located in the Main Building and in the commons area of the V. Earl Dickinson Building.